10 Reasons I Love My Job

As I write this post it’s 10PM. I’m tired, cranky and feeling a little burned out. The next two days are going to be busy and the list of deadlines for next week is piling up. Can you say burned out?

That’s why when I was looking at this week’s writing prompts from Mama’s Losin It; I knew instantly which prompt I was going to write about.

10 Reasons I Love My Job. Because I do love what I do even if I get tired and forget sometimes.

  1. I don’t have a boss. That’s why being a freelance writer means that I don’t answer to anyone but myself. Granted I have clients who hire me, but it’s not the same thing as an evil boss lurking over your shoulder.
  2. I make my own schedule. I schedule meetings and phone calls when I want to. I can work from my couch, the coffee shop, or close my laptop and go for a walk.
  3. I get to take care of sick kids stress free. I remember what it was like to get a call from my daycare provider that my son was sick. I’d have to tell my boss and coworkers that I needed to leave and then I’d have to finish what I was working on, clean out my in-box, while sitting on hold with the doctor. The whole time my sick child would be waiting for me at daycare. Now? I can have my sick kids in my arms in less than 6 minutes from the time the school calls me to tell me their sick. I can snuggle, watch TV or take them to the doctor. All without worrying about leaving work.
  4. I don’t miss a thing. Class parties, assemblies, field trips, science lab, and every other little thing at school. I’m there for all of it. And that’s pretty damn cool.
  5. In every diary, questionnaire or personality quiz I ever took for as long as I remember, they always said the same thing. That I should be a writer. The fact that it’s what I always wanted to do and now I get paid for it is one of the coolest things ever.  The only thing cooler? When my kids ask what do you do? And I say. “I’m a writer.” Then they ask, “What did you want to do when you were a kid?” And I can honestly answer, “Be a writer.”
  6. I get to do cool stuff. Not in a million years would I have been able to take my kids to go see Peter Pan or Beauty & The Beast this summer. But I did, because being a writer and blogger gets you cool stuff.
  7. Bylines feel cool. I’m not going to lie, seeing your name in a byline and knowing it’s out there is a good feeling. When I write something, even a piddly little blog post like this, I’m putting a little piece of me out there. And that feels good.
  8. I can take a vacation without taking time off work. I can pretty much work from anywhere that I can plug in my laptop and get Wi-Fi. Anywhere.
  9. The dress code isn’t very strict. I can dress up or show up in my PJs. Either way the only one judging me is the cat. And who is she to judge fashion?
  10. I can touch people. Not that it happens very often, but when someone emails me or messages me and says that something I wrote helped them, or made them cry or feel good. Then I’ve done my job. I love the idea that someone out there may be reading something I wrote and feeling like a better mom.

How about you? Can you name 10 things you love about your job?

9 thoughts on “10 Reasons I Love My Job

  1. I found you at Mama Kat’s and loved reading your list. It’s wonderful that you have found your passion in life and get to actually do it, rather than holing up in a stuffy office somewhere.

  2. I loved your list. i have always loved writing but have been scared of rejection. By blogging I hope to build my confidence so maybe one I’ll have a list just like yours! BTW stopping in from Mama Kat’s and subscribing!

Leave a comment