The State of Creepy and The Houses October Built

HOB_STILL_5-620x400Last night I had a dream. I dreamt that there was a creepy girl in a porcelain doll mask with frayed and dirty hair, and a creepy dirty old dress with blood on it and she had crazy horror movie eyes. In a singsong voice she asked me to play and followed me in a slow creepy skip down a dark ally. From out of nowhere she began to lunge at me. But lo and behold I had Ruby’s Knife (from the show Supernatural) and began to fight creepy little porcelain thing off. Suddenly I jolted awake and was in my bed. It was 4AM.

To say I was “creeped” out would be an understatement, so the reason behind my bad dream seemed like a perfect post for this week’s Writing Prompt from Mama Kat’s World Famous Writing Prompts: “Write About Something That Creeped You Out.” But the creepiness I felt up and down my spine as I tried to recover from the bad dream was welcomed and even caused a small sleepy smile to cross my face.

Because it was a good old fashioned side effect from a creepy as hell horror movie I had watched over the weekend. And honestly? It was the first time in a long time that I had been left creeped out by a movie in a way that was simply scary. Not a psychological thriller, no disgusting torture (Saw movies I am looking at you) just good old fashioned horror. The Houses October Built is not only a fabulously freaky horror movie, but it is also a beautiful love letter to my favorite time of the year, Halloween and the increasing popularity of Haunted Houses and the scariest season of all.

Americans spend over $8 Billion on Halloween each year. Over 2,500 Haunts open throughout the country each year. Over 30 million people attend these Haunts every October. So it only makes sense that some smart filmmakers would finally capitalize on the most obvious theme for a Halloween horror film, Haunted Houses.

The Houses October Built follow five friends who decide to travel in RV to visits a number of haunted houses. The friends, bored with the everyday attractions, begun hunting down “The Blue Skeleton,” taking them across Texas and into Louisiana. They interview cast members of the haunts along the way.

What they don’t know is that crew of The Blue Skeleton is taking a trip of their and set on engaging the friends in a game of Halloween haunting that leave the group wondering when the haunt ends and the real horror begins…

Generally speaking I am not the biggest fan of movie in the “Found Footage” horror movie genre. But when done right, such as the case with The Houses October Built, it can be truly terrifying to watch. The filmmakers blend in actual footage of Haunted Houses and interviews with the real scare actors to add the perfect dose of reality to the footage to make it believable. What’s brilliant about this horror movie is that it took something that creeps me out and built a movie around it. It’s a valid fear we all feed every October and these guys played on it.

True horror movies are meant to leave you creeped out. And if they manage to tap into a fear you already have (the whole point of visiting a Haunt, right?) then you’ll find yourself still just as creeped out a few nights later in your dreams, like I was. Here’s to the creepiest of Halloween seasons for you!

Mama’s Losin’ It

If you’re looking for a new Halloween classic The Houses October Built is available now in theaters, on VOD, and iTunes.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tina
    Oct 16, 2014 @ 07:52:07

    It’s good that you had Ruby’s knife!

    Reply

  2. Kimberly M (@momgosomething)
    Oct 16, 2014 @ 10:15:26

    Oh no…I can’t even look at the trailer. How sad is it that I’m 34 and can’t watch horror movie trailers without messing her pants in fear?

    Reply

  3. carol
    Oct 16, 2014 @ 15:25:46

    Sounds real creepy… probably too creepy for me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

