Life Moves Pretty Fast…

20140514-213313.jpg

So it’s been a long time since I’ve actually blogged just for the sake of blogging. It’s a horrible thing to be a writer and not make time to write, so I’m on that kick of trying to fix that.

So the end of the school year is upon us and I have to admit I feel like I’ve completely run out of steam.

IMG_5336I’m just done and with summer about to kick in I’m hoping to find that extra bit of energy to pull me through the slump. The school year has been full of a lot of ups and downs. And I feel like it has just flown by. Which is languishing in itself but all the more heart breaking to be because it marks the end of elementary school for Patrick.

We are on the brink of an entirely new chapter in parenting and childhood and if be lying of I didn’t say I was more nervous than excited.

I find myself aching for the years when he was younger and time felt as if it would stand still. But it didn’t. It just kept matching on. And it continues to do so no matter how hard I try and wish it to stop. Life keeps changing and the kids keep growing and all of it is simply dizzying.

But it’s moments like this that I remind myself to close my eyes, relax my shoulders and just breathe.

Someday I will long for this moment.
I will remember facing the last elementary school summer for Patrick and I will wish I could be here again.
It will go by too fast and I need to soak it in.
I need to enjoy it.
I need to just be.

That is my goal for this summer.

This is why for this weeks writing prompt from Mama Kat, “A quote from someone that has stuck with you” I went with this one. From the phenomenal John Hughes as said by the legendary Ferris Buellar.

Mama’s Losin’ It

Leave a Reply

