Hairspray Giveaway!

I dearly love Broadway shows and the only thing better than going into the city to see a great show, is to stay in town and see one! I can’t even begin to describe how excited I am to be giving away tickets to see one of my all time favorite shows, Hairspray right here in Livermore at the beautiful Bankhead Theater in our award winning downtown Livermore.

So I can’t help but be giddy with more excitement than Edna Turnblaud in front of a Christmas Ham to be giving away two tickets to what is sure to be a fabulous show! But there’s more to this contest than just getting to give away two tickets to Hairspray, it’s a chance for me to help an incredible local theater company who has found themselves on hard times.

Tri-Valley Repertory Theater (TVRT) recently found out that their landlord was going to be raising the rent to their office and rehearsal space on top of general expenses that continue to rise for set and costume rentals, theater fees, etc. They are in need of donations of any size and of course more people to buy tickets to their fabulous shows. So I’m taking advantage of this contest opportunity to not only give away two tickets to see Hairspray but to encourage YOU to spread the word about the show and TVRT upcoming shows the coming season (OMG Annie AND Oklahoma!!!!).

For me Hairspray is simply one of my favorite musicals hands down. The music, the dancing and the incredibly uplifting plot are not only enough to leave you dancing to the beat, but feeling like you have the power to change the world! I’m SO stoked that TVRT has brought it HERE and I want to share it with you.

So here are the rules to get into the running for YOUR two tickets to see Hairspray.

1.    Go to Facebook and “Like” Tri-Valley Repertory Theatre (if you haven’t already).
2.    Share the Tri-Valley Repertory Theatre page OR this blog post with your friends.
3.    Come back here and leave a comment telling me why you love local theater.

Then the morning of Thursday October 20 I will choose a winner from the comments (that have “liked” the TVRT page) using Random.org. The winner will receive two tickets to see Hairspray during it’s run at the Bankhead Theater on the day of YOUR choice!

Remember you DO NOT have to be here in Livermore to enter, readers from the greater area Bay Area and Central Valley should enter as well. Trust me you HAVE to come visit our gorgeous downtown and see all that we have to offer and catch a great show while your at it.

A little about the show: Hairspray opens Saturday October 22 with performances Oct. 23, 28, 29, 30, Nov. 4, 5 and 6. Hairspray debuted on Broadway in August 2002. The songs include 1960s-style dance music and “downtown” rhythm and blues. In 1962 Baltimore, Maryland, plump teenager Tracy Turnblad’s dream is to dance on The Corny Collins Show, a local TV dance program based on the real-life Buddy Deane Show. It received 8 Tony awards and is based on the 1988 John Waters classic film of the same name.

A little about Tri-Valley Repertory Theatre: Tri-Valley Repertory Theatre is a non-profit volunteer organization dedicated to providing affordable quality theatre, theatrical training, a showcase for talent, and a cultural experience within the Tri-Valley and East Bay communities. They are currently in their 27th year of providing professional quality musical theatre, their 20th year of providing a true community chorus, and their 14th year of providing black box theatre productions. Attendance at their various productions exceeds 15,000 people annually.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kandy Heller-Evans
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 12:21:57

    I love the live theater since I was a kid because of my Mom. We went to the summer stock shows with their beautiful productions in Dayton, Ohio. Seeing shows like My Fair Lady, South Pacific, Showboat and so many more. Starring Ann Blyth, Jane Powell, Ed Ames, Andy Divine, Katherine Ross, Rosemary Clooney and many more. I think Livermore is a beautiful place with a great community and we have the wonderful Bankhead theater. I love supporting the arts. I know at times, especially today it’s hard to afford the price of going to see live shows, but I think it’s so worth it. It’s a memory that will remain with you always. Especially if spent with those you love.

    Reply

  2. Kathleen Laing Schoening
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 12:42:55

    My family and I love local community theatre. I also can think of no better way to introduce my daughter to the greats of the theatre than by the community. The Tri-Valley is the best place for an introduction to the stage.

    Reply

  3. Meg Weidner Epperly
    Oct 15, 2011 @ 15:01:59

    Our family supports local and community theater multiple times a year. We go to at least one Woodminster, one Tri-Valley Rep and one LHS show a year, plus our kids’ friends concerts and shows.

    We brought our kids to a production of Music Man when they were 3 and 6 and have not stopped taking them to live theater since! We also try to go to on LPC and/or Bankhead orchestra concert every year as well.

    Oh! And the Revels in Oakland too.

    All of these experiences add to our children’s desire to play musical instruments and be in the Our Savior choir and musical every year. The quality is always top-notch and inspires them to try hard, try-out for bigger roles, and practice more.

    My husband and I met in an a cappella group and I was in theater throughout High School. Tom and I were even in Music Man together before kids! We love that we are passing on our love of attending and performing in local theater to our kids!

    Reply

  4. Liz Mesenbring
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 11:23:14

    I love local theater because:

    1) It is local and I don’t have to get on a plane and go to Times Square and pay a fortune to see a musical.
    2) It is local and I don’t have to drive into SF and pay crazy parking rates to see a musical.
    3) It is local and I can support my community when I see a musical.

    Reply

  5. Julie Johnson
    Oct 17, 2011 @ 13:47:15

    We love local theater for the LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! Also that it is affordable enough to take the whole family. We have supported numerous events from plays to LHS choir/band performances. But nothing beats the fact that the money is spent here!

    Reply

  6. Jenny Moy
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 13:34:48

    I love our Livermore and Walnut Creek local theather because you can go see great quallity professional theather productionfor a fraction of the cost of going to a show in San Francisco. Also every seat has a wonderful view. Many of our local actors go on to become professional actors. I also love that by attending local theater you can also support the local economy by dining at a nearby resturant. My mother installed a love of theather in me at a young age, but we can no longer afford the $100+ tickets for a show in San Francisco. With local theather we can still enjoy a great day together that includes lunch or dinner and a show for less than the cost of one ticket in the city.

    Reply

  7. Mary Claudino
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 18:34:41

    I love taking the kids to see musicals. They wind up singing the great showtunes for months later. We started them off with a kids CD of Broadway music as toddlers. I love the memory of my 4 year old daughter belting out “If I were A Rich Man”! Then many years later getting to share the stage production with her. Like many others in the area, I am really liking the opportunity the Bankhead has given us to share the tradition of stage performances with the next generation.

    Reply

  8. Kristin Kohn
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 12:50:41

    My parents took me to local theater when I was a kid, usually about 6 shows a summer. It was fantastic. Now, I am doing the same for my son. TVRT is the perfect place to take kids for great theater. You are close to the stage, the performances are family friendly, and tickets are affordable. Yea for local theater, musicals, and TVRT!

    Reply

  9. Kandice Olcese
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 11:56:12

    Thanks for the opportunity, I’ve never been & would love to go! You rock!

    Reply

  10. Debbie Campbell
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 12:17:20

    The best aspects of my life all tie back to local theater. As a child the highlight of my year was attending local shows (especially musicals) with my parents. I met my husband when he starred in our high school production. My son is now a musical theater major in college after enjoying very rewarding involvement in the Livermore school district’s performing arts programs. My otherwise shy daughter blossoms when participating in local productions and camps. Our family has been active supporters of numerous Livermore’s valued arts programs like TVRT and the pending regional theater project. We are proud to say that many of our friends have been cast members, played in the orchestra, or on the tech crew of TVRT productions including the upcoming “Hairspray” & “Annie”. My husband was a lucky audience participant in their hilarious “Spelling Bee” show. TVRT not only provides quality local entertainment but offers opportunities for all ages to perform that would not otherwise be available in our area.

    We’ve seen first hand how local theater impacts individual growth by inspiring creativity, bringing joy, and instilling confidence in both those who attend and participate. Theater is food for the soul.

    Not having to drive to SF or SJ to find that experience is something that Livermore as a community should be very proud of and is one of the reasons why our family chose to make this city our home.

    Reply

  11. Ken Currie
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 12:19:17

    If you have never experienced live theatre you don’t know what you are missing. Just like the difference between watching sports live or on TV, live theatre is a whole different experience. Did any of you know that in the 1930’s Humphrey Bogart was in a play called, “The Petrified Forrest”? People loved to sit in the front rows so that they could see his whiskers. “The Petrified Forrest,” became a movie. It was Bogart’s first movie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

