Dannon’s Oikos Greek Yogurt, John Stamos and Me

I wrote this post while participating in a blog tour conducted by Clever Girls on behalf of Dannon. I have been compensated for my time commitment to the program but my opinions are my own.

For more information and recipe ideas, visit http://www.oikosyogurt.com or http://www.Facebook.com/oikos. I was selected for this sponsorship by the Clever Girls Collective, which endorses Blog With Integrity, as I do.

Generally I am not a huge fan of celebrity-endorsed products. I don’t mind the occasional funny well-written commercial starring a celebrity I like, but I usually roll my eyes at the thought of a witty celebrity actually getting me to purchase a product.  Any product.

With one exception.

Anyone who is familiar with me knows that I do not keep my lifelong obsession with John Stamos much of a secret. An ill-fated contest in which I was one vote away from seeing my man Stamos in person here in my hometown over the summer still causes me to wake up in cold sweats at the frustration of it all…. But that’s another story. This story is about my favorite hunky Greek and his new gig as the face of Dannon Oikos Greek Yogurt.

From the moment I first saw the commercial with Stamos knocking at the door with a container of the fluffy Greek goodness, I publically declared then and there that I would never purchase Chobani Greek Yogurt (my brand of choice until that day) again. “If Stamos says it’s better, then it’s BETTER.” I declared to my cat.

Little did I know that I would actually be chosen not a day later by Dannon to take part in an actual paid review of Oikos. Why they didn’t think John Stamos as their front man was enough I have no idea, but who am I to turn down a chance at trying Stamos’s yogurt of choice?

So I received my $5 gift card from Dannon and headed over to Safeway where, lucky for me, they were on sale five for $5 and almost cleaned out. I picked some peach, strawberry and my favorite, Vanilla to find out the truth about what John Stamos was telling me.

And I am the right person to judge. For the last six months I have been doing Weight Watchers and on a daily exercise in an attempt to get healthier. I have been pretty successful in losing 30 pounds during that time. One of my secret go-to treats while trying to eat healthier had been Greek yogurt. But honestly I found the super thick consistency of Greek yogurt to be too much for my taste. But with one yummy spoonful of Danon’s Oikos Greek strawberry, I knew I’d be going back to Greek Yogurt again.

The best part is that both the Strawberry, vanilla and Peach Dannon® Oikos® flavors that I tried all contain 0% fat (while the Dannon® Oikos® traditional blended varieties contains about 3% fat). Both are an excellent source of protein, twice that of most regular lowfat yogurts, which is one of the reasons why Greek yogurt is such a great snack to include in a healthy lifestyle.

Thanks to the authentic Greek straining process which gives Dannon® Oikos® it’s rich and creamy-thick texture it was creamy and thick enough to be filling yet much lighter than Chobani, leaving me satisfied but not overly full. And one single serving and a bottle of water left kept me going the rest of the afternoon.

So yes, Stamos peddling Dannon® Oikos® Greek Yogurt is what got me interested in trying it. And YES, Dannon asking me to review Dannon® Oikos® pushed me to buy a bunch before I went grocery shopping. But the actual yogurt itself is what’s going to make it a part if my daily snacking routine.

I have partnered with Dannon to help promote the Dannon Oikos Greek Yogurt Series.  I have been compensated for my time commitment to the program, which includes writing about the promotion and product.  However, my opinions are entirely my own and I have not been paid to publish positive comments.

Second Discloser Notice: I have asked to be compensated for this post by having John Stamos bring me more yogurt. Dannon has yet to respond.

Leave a Reply

