Early Signs of Fall

The foliage has been losing its freshness through the month of August, and here and there a yellow leaf shows itself like the first gray hair amidst the locks of a beauty who has seen one season too many. ~Oliver Wendell Holmes

Last night I went grocery shopping, alone. Since summer vacation began in June there have been very few times that I have been out running errands alone and it was a nice break. I listened to what I wanted to, had the music up as loud as I wanted and was able to walk around the grocery store leisurely perusing my shopping list and going at my own pace. It was nice. I know, the things that we enjoy as adults are pretty simple.

But the best part was as I was walking across the parking lot it was dusk. The sunset has been beautiful lately, not that it isn’t always, but lately there seems to be a much more golden hue to dusk. And lately even the warmest days have given way to cool breezy evenings as soon as the sun starts to make it’s way behind the hills.

Our Target is nestled right next to some foothills and as I walked along the side parking lot I was able to partake in this chilly golden sunset. On the top of the store a crow sat perched singing its song. The smell in the air was a leafy autumny smell instead a warm summer scent. And I couldn’t help but realize in all Mother Nature’s golden beauty, that I was seeing the very earliest first signs of autumn.

Maybe I’m looking for signs that aren’t there. Maybe it’s because the kids start school this week, which always adds an autumny feel to the air. Maybe I’m just ready for autumn.There is something so lovely about autumn that makes it’s my favorite time of the year. The golden colors of the leaves, the smell of pumpkin pie, and the yummy smell of leaves on the grass.

To me, it is Mother Nature at her very finest. The time in between the hot dry summer and the cold dead winter. It’s the golden time. It’s my time. And with each day crossed off the calendar I look forward to autumn making it’s full return to replenish the soul.


4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dina
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 15:47:26

    Lovely post. Its so nice to run an errand alone … I couldn’t agree more! Simple pleasures, indeed. Fall is also my favorite time of year!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: I Smell Fall « Walter Kitty's Diary
  3. Brittany
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 12:11:49

    I love fall, too! Temps are already dropping and it’s only August. I hope it’s a sign of an early fall this year!

    Reply

  4. ogłoszenia towarzyskie
    Apr 08, 2013 @ 05:33:53

    Link exchange is nothing else but it is just placing the other person’s weblog link on your page at suitable place and other person will also do similar in favor of you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

