Updating Easter Traditions

Thank you to Log Cabin for sponsoring my post about updated traditions in my household. To learn more about Log Cabin Syrups (which are all free of High Fructose Corn Syrup), breakfast for dinner, and other new ways to update traditions in your home, click here.I was selected for this sponsorship by the Clever Girls Collective, which endorses Blog With Integrity, as I do.

Happy Easter week! This is one of my favorite times of year. The weather is getting better the hills around our home are still a lush green color and of course celebrating Easter itself.

Easter was one of my favorite holidays as a kid as well.  We would wake up to find Easter baskets waiting for us and then rush to find the hidden eggs. As soon as we had collected all the eggs around the yard we’d get dressed into our new Easter dresses possibly go to church and then head over to Grandma’s house for a traditional Easter dinner and small egg hunt.

My memories of Easter are warm ones, but they are always slightly tainted with that memory of rushing around everywhere. I remember spending a lot of time in the car on Easter. We’d hardly get to dig into our Easter baskets until the next day.

That’s why for my kids we have altered some of the Easter traditions form my childhood.

Easter weekend begins with our annual neighborhood Easter egg hunt. I love and look forward this annual hunt almost as much as my kids do, because it’s something rarely ever did when I was a kid. An Easter egg hunt in the yard and Grandma’s house are fun, but at the park in the sun with all their friends is quite special. We come home and dye eggs and leave them for the Easter bunny to hide when we go to sleep.

When my kids wake up Easter morning they are greeted with Easter baskets and a yard full of hidden eggs. Just as I did when I was their age, but that’s where the real changes in tradition starts. My kids stay in their pajamas. Because we celebrate Easter at home.

We still bake a big ham, with potatoes and carrot cake for dessert. But we do in the comfort of our own home. The kids play games, eat Easter candy and enjoy the day all from the comfort of their own home.

What are some of your family traditions that you’ve changed or updated with your own kids?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: PEEK-Inside Easter Eggs! | discover fabulous
  2. Trackback: Austin Cleaning Authority The Cleaning Authority, Austin Green House Cleaning, Holidays: Have an Eco-friendly Easter, Austin!

Leave a Reply

