Halloween Is Over

So it’s done. The horror, the gore, the decorations, the Rocky Horror Picture Show soundtrack on a constant loop, the candy. OK, well maybe the candy will be here for a little bit longer… But Halloween, one of the most beloved holidays in our house, itself is over. And it was a good one.

But I have to confess something, even if some of you will think I’m a little crazy. This morning I did my favorite thing to do the day after Halloween. A little private tradition that I’ve never told anyone about. I got up this morning while the house was still asleep and tiptoed downstairs. As I sipped a warm cup of coffee I turned on the TV. I flipped to the Music Choice section and found the holiday channel, which for the last few weeks has been playing the soundtrack to Halloween along with a dozen other spooky themed songs and scores to celebrate Halloween.

But not today. Today when I turned on that holiday channel I heard Bing Crosby singing Silver Bells. Because today is the day Music Choice switches to Christmas music.

I know, I know. Some of you are saying to yourselves, “She’s CRAZY. It’s too early!!”

And maybe it you’re right. But personally I find so much joy and comfort in the holiday season. And the day after Halloween, November 1, I love turning on the Christmas channel and enjoying the soft sounds of Bing. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not committing to listening to that channel for the next few weeks. Christmas in our house doesn’t officially begin until the day after Thanksgiving.

But just the idea that it’s here. That in a few weeks I’ll be sitting down with family and enjoying good food, wonderful conversation and screaming children making turkeys out of their hands and begging for extra whip cream on their pumpkin pie.

Then the next day my husband will bring out the boxes of Christmas decorations and our house will be decked out in twinkling lights and Santa’s will line the shelves of my house.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Candice
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 11:16:59

    Matt said that in the town he works in is already all decorated for Christmas. hehe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

