Tuesday Tune – Leather & Lace

Now don’t get me wrong; Allen was interested in the details of planning our wedding, they just weren’t as important to him as they were to me. This is the case with most grooms I think, and was never an issue with me. He was always willing to give me an opinion when asked and always helped in making the major decisions.

One decision was something I had put at the bottom of my to-do list, we needed to get a song list together for the DJ. All the other songs (parents dance, father/daughter, wedding party dance, etc) I had chosen when I was around 10 years old, so they were covered. What we were stuck on was our first dance.

Oh, we had a couple of songs that we called “our songs”, but they didn’t seem to fit the moment of the first dance. I finally narrowed it down to a handful of songs. They included songs by Billy Joel, Lyle Lovett, Kenny Loggins, among others. So my husband-to-be got comfy on the couch, while I sat in front of the stereo playing CD after CD. Each song was sweet and emotional but afterwards we’d look at each other and go, “not it”.

Finally I came to the very last CD. Stevie Nick’s Bella Donna. I turned on Leather & Lace. I remember sitting there on the floor with my knees up to my chest listening. In my mind I flashed on our whole life together up until that point. Tears rolled down my cheeks as I realized that this was our song.

I turned around to see what my Allen’s reaction to the song was. He too had tears rolling down his face. We both smiled and he said, “That’s the one.” And it was. A month later we cried & smiled again as we danced to Leather & Lace at our wedding.

This Saturday we celebrate 11 years of dancing to Leather and Lace. 11 amazing years.

Tuesday Tune is my song of the week post where I post a video and my favorite memory associated with that song. Do you have a favorite music memory? Write about it and post a link in the comments!

Leave a Reply

