Everything I Know I Learned From Dirty Dancing

That was the summer of 1987 – when everybody called me Meg, and it didn’t occur to me to mind. That was before President Clinton was in office, before Nirvana came, when I couldn’t wait to start junior high, and I thought I’d never find a guy as great as Patrick Swayze. That was the summer we went to see Dirty Dancing. These are the lessons I learned from Dirty Dancing, the things that stayed with me long after that summer was over.

  • Even though God had yet to give me maracas, once he did, I would always remember to shake them.
  • Spaghetti arms: Bad.
  • Staying in my own dance space: Good.
  • Always take “that stuff” off my face before mother sees it.
  • Three weeks in the Catskills feels like a year.
  • I’ll hurt him if I don’t trust him…
  • Carrying a watermelon can get me places I might not get into otherwise.
  • Dance people keep the guests happy.
  • Some guys should keep their pickle on their plates, and leave the hard stuff to guys like Patrick Swayze (RIP).
  • I can live off Jujubes.
  • The first woman in the cabinet was named Francis.
  • There are people willing to stand up for other people no matter what it costs them.
  • Some people count and some people don’t.
  • It takes a real saint to ask Daddy.
  • Never put my heal down.
  • A guy who owns two hotels will always do better with the ladies then the lifeguard.
  • Always pack the coral shoes.
  • Never end the season with the Pechanga.
  • Nobody puts baby in a corner.

These are the things that actually float through my head whenever I see Dirty Dancing on TV or hear any song off the soundtrack. Knowing this movie front to back was truly part of the experience of growing up in the eighties. What’s your favorite line from Dirty Dancing?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thelifeofjamie
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 07:30:49

    “We’re supposed to do the show in two days- you won’t show me lifts, I’m not sure of turns, I’m doing all this to save your ass, but what I really wanna do is drop you on it!”
    I LOVE Dirty Dancing- it’s my all-time favorite movie ever. I could totally hear Baby’s voice reading your intro. The other day it was on TV and there were scenes I have never seen before- it tripped me out!

    Reply

    • Meghan Harvey
      Sep 10, 2010 @ 20:35:32

      “What I really want to do is drop you on it!” LOVE IT! And I saw that version too! Weird, huh? There was another one, I think it was Mask with Eric Stolz & Cher, that was the same way. A bunch of scenes I’d never seen before. Oh well, still great movies! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

  2. Diane
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 08:40:55

    LOVE it! I can’t not watch that movie if I see that it is on t.v. Takes me back to my junior and senior years of high school. “…but most of all, I’m afraid of walking out of this room and never feel again, for the rest of my whole life, the way I feel when I’m with you!” or something like that. 😉

    Reply

  3. Tanya
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 10:40:15

    I love Dirty Dancing! I haven’t seen it in awhile and now I need to. I choose this prompt too, movies have a way of helping you capture moments in your life. One of my favorite lines- “That’s not true! You, you’re everything!”

    Reply

  4. Marvi Marti
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 10:47:55

    Another great movie! Love how you found life lessons in it, great post!

    Stopped by from Writer’s Workshop!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

