5 Ways to De-Stress For Free

I am tired today. It’s been a stressful couple of days, which I’m not in the mood to blog about right now. Besides I always try to keep in mind that no matter how crappy your day is there is always someone out there having a crappier day. It’s important to always keep whining in perspective.

With that said, that doesn’t mean we should bottle up out stress either. But when we wear a lot of hats, as most of you reading this do, it’s hard to find the right time or place to let it all go. Not all of us can get to gym or afford yoga classes at the studio downtown or a nice relaxing massage.

So for my own sanity, as much as yours, I came up with a list of things you can do for free around the house to take the edge off.

  1. Garden – OK so gardening can be a bit of work in the beginning but once it’s going strong the actual “gardening’ part can be very therapeutic. Weeding, watering and harvesting have been soul-soothing activities for thousands of years. Take some quiet time working in your garden and enjoy.
  2. Read – This may not always be easy with kids running around and a house to keep up, but force yourself to. Not only is reading a relaxing activity, it’s also very good for the soul and for the brain. A good book will give even the most stressed person a much-needed break from whatever things in life are stressing them out. Reading before bedtime can also do wonders for insomnia.
  3. Nap – OK, OK stop laughing. It is possible to nap. Some days. Remember when your kids were newborns and everybody said “Sleep as much as you can!” or “Sleep when the baby sleeps!” Yes, great advice, but it doesn’t have to end when your kids are no longer babies. If your kids still nap, take one yourself. If they’re older put on a favorite movie and make a big bed for all of you on the floor. They can watch the movie for an hour and a half while you let your body rest. A massage is wonderful, but is nothing compared to a good nap.
  4. Television – Give yourself a chunk of time in the evening one or two days a week and enjoy your favorite sitcom or reality show. TV has been relieving stress and creating an escape for people for years now, and is as good at doing it today as it always was.
  5. Yoga – I know I said that not all of us could afford the gym or yoga classes. But most of us can afford a DVD, which we can than use when we want to. I know for me the mornings I get up before the kids and enjoy 15 minutes of yoga while the house still sleeps are amazing. Good for my sanity, my soul and my body.

What’s your way to De-Stress?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Add to Google Buzz

Like This!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Noemi M
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 06:09:57

    For me i rather go Walk for 30min or Swim in 10 min that give me relief from stress

    Also i tend pick a movie tht make a plan and bake favorite dessert as healthy way like dark chocolate ohh i enjoy it feel great!!

    Reply

  2. Rossella
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 08:48:42

    Hi Meg
    My best de-stress activity is reading not just one magazine or book, but some of them. Depending on my type or level of stress and my caprices, I prefer different types of reading. They should be or light or funny or productive or creative.
    I love also baking when I’m so tired from mental work.

    Reply

  3. Maria Santoferraro
    Jul 30, 2010 @ 12:30:52

    When I’m really stressed out – I try to walk away from the situation, breathe deep and do a little meditation. All it takes is about 5 minutes of silence and all that oxygen from breathing deep, and I’m ready to go back at it.
    Love it that you sneak in fifteen minutes of yoga in the morning – that is a great idea and yoga is, by far, the best way I know to reduce stress!

    Reply

    • Meghan Harvey
      Jul 30, 2010 @ 15:06:53

      Yoga is a great one! Though I have to admit with the kids on summer vacation and our schedule out of whack I’ve not been very good about it. But I’m feeling the difference, and trying to work it back in to my morning routine. If not right now, as soon as school starts…

      Reply

  4. Ofthesea
    Aug 02, 2010 @ 01:35:16

    I drink, heh. Does wonders to loosen all the knots!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

