Finding Your Voice – Tribute to Dixie Carter

In life there are few tools we have that are as important as our voice. I don’t necessarily mean the literal ability to talk. But the ability to communicate your feelings, whether it is via the written word, art, music, sign language, or even using your wallet to support the things that matter to you. Our voices are all we have to make a difference in this world. To right wrongs, to protect ourselves and the people we love. Or to protect strangers that we’ll never meet, simply because they have no voice.

This has been a cornerstone of who I am for my entire life. For as long as I can remember. Whether it be dealing with an insurance company that’s ripping me off, getting a refund for a busted product, demanding my right to pump breastmilk for newborn baby at work or standing outside a congressman’s office and asking him to vote in favor of healthcare. It’s just who I am.

There have been many people in my life who have helped encourage me to use my voice. Some people I’ve known personally like teachers, friends, and family. Some are simply icons that inspired me in books, movies, politics, or television.

Dixie Carter and the legendary character she played on Designing Women, Julia Sugarbaker, was one of those people. And yesterday she passed away at the age of 70.

You will be missed Dixie. And I promise to you, that my voice will remain loud, remain strong and remain proud. And will never stop shouting at the world to ensure it gets its act together.

Leave a Reply

