The Dating Habits of Preschoolers

IMG_7033

So there’s this boy in my daughter’s preschool class. His older brother just happens to be in the same Boy Scout den as my son.  It wasn’t too much of a surprise when the boy and my daughter became best buddies. They see each other all the time plus they get along, no big deal. But then about two months ago my daughter starting calling him her “boyfriend.” Now this didn’t really bother me at first, in fact it came across as cute. I shrugged it off. But it continued.

The two have since become inseparable at school and at Boy Scout functions. They hold hands and walking around together and stuff. And now in the last week she has declared that she is in love with him, as he is with her, and that they are going to get married.

I’m active in the class, know the family and know that there is nothing to really be concerned about. But I can’t help but be a little taken aback. I mean, she’s five!

I don’t want her to be establishing quite so much emphasis on marriage at five. I don’t want her to automatically think she has to get married when she grows up. Right? I also want her to be able to establish friendships with boys that don’t revolve around labels like boyfriend or girlfriend.

I know that in another two months the school year will be over and they’ll be going to Kindergarten at different schools. A part of me is relieved but another part of me feels bad because she knows they won’t be together next year.

I guess it’s no big deal. And I guess it’s just another one of those things that us moms supposed to just let roll of our backs.

But let me just say, for the record, that if I ever get around to writing a book about parenting this is so getting it’s own chapter.

This is an original post to the Silicon Valley Moms Blog.

Leave a Reply

