Breastfeeding Sucks

100_3351That’s right, I said it. Breastfeeding sucks. That was one of the greatest pieces of advice I ever picked up as a new mom.

Let me back up just a bit. For me, deciding to breastfeed was never really much of a decision. I knew I was going to breastfeed the moment we decided to have kids. Once I was pregnant I bought all the books, read every magazine article and even took a breastfeeding class at the local clinic. I was going to be the best breastfeeder EVER.

As it turned out, the books, the class, and all the magazine articles that I’d read left out a number of things. What all those great breastfeeding articles didn’t talk about was my 30 hour labor and my 10lb baby boy. They neglected to mention the effect that a 30 hour labor and the horrific tearing that took 20 minutes to stitch up would have on my ability to sit down and breastfeed in the early weeks. Or how that discomfort would make it harder for my milk to let down so the feedings would take even longer.

They said my nipples might crack & bleed. They said engorgement may cause a little “discomfort.” What they didn’t say was that the pain involved might actually make me forget about the pain of childbirth.

These resources also listed some of the pitfalls of breastfeeding. Like mastitis, thrush, and the continuous leaking from my breasts. They didn’t explain how excruciating these things could be, especially when they all happened to me one right after the other.

Needless to say in those early weeks of motherhood I was feeling pretty beat down by breastfeeding. I felt like I was doing something wrong. I also felt like I couldn’t get a break. I really wanted breastfeeding to be this beautiful and mystical experience for me and my son. It just wasn’t working out that way.

Then somewhere along the way I came across a blog post online, I don’t remember where exactly now. But in this post the woman said, “Anyone who tells you breastfeeding is easy is a big liar! But if you stick it out, it gets better.”

And I did stick it out. Thanks to ice packs, lanolin, antibiotics and ibuprofen my problems passed. And breastfeeding did turn out to be one of the best things I ever did. I went on to breastfeed my son until he weaned himself at 14 months, even pumping for a whole year once I went back to work.

When I had my daughter a couple of years later I breastfed her as well. Oddly enough other than gritting my teeth through some sore nipples, it was pretty easy the second time around. Then again I think the breastfeeding Gods owed me one.

So why tell this story almost seven years later? Because somewhere out there is a new mom with cracked nipples and a hungry baby. And she’s feeling like maybe, just maybe, it’s too hard.

Well honey, it is hard. In fact it sucks. But it gets better. And it’s worth every ache and pain.

This post is a cross-post from Meghan Harvey’s personal blog, Meg’s Idle Chatter, where she writes about more than just sore breasts.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katie
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 03:00:18

    Plus, all the books say that it shouldn’t hurt if you’ve got the proper latch. NOT TRUE! It hurts, no matter what. I was lucky enough to get thrush with my first son and mastitis with the twins. Not fun, but that goes away quickly and it REALLY does become second nature. Great post!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Breastfeeding in the News: April 21st – 30th, 2010 « The Curious Lactivist's Blog
  3. Nipple Play
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 15:18:51

    I am new to developing internet sites and
    I was wondering if having your website title relevant to your content really that important?
    I see your title, “Breastfeeding Sucks | Meg’s Idle Chatter ” does
    appear to be spot on with what your blog is about but yet,
    I prefer to keep my title less content descriptive and based more around site branding.
    Would you think this is a good idea or bad idea? Any kind of help would be greatly valued.

    Reply

  4. Pictures Areola Nipple
    Apr 11, 2013 @ 04:41:16

    74 Mb/s download! Where are you hosting Matey?

    The web page loaded swifter then lightning speed for myself!

    Even Captain Kirks Enterprise would have a hard time keeping up
    with your host! Do you mind telling me from where you acquired this excellent Server?
    I would like to have it too! My mail is: angelohardesty@peacemail.

    com, by the way great site!

    Reply

  5. sex toys
    Apr 19, 2013 @ 03:49:53

    I like the valuable information you provide in
    your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I’m quite sure I will learn many new stuff right
    here! Best of luck for the next!

    Reply

  6. Choco skinned Pussy
    May 12, 2013 @ 10:07:59

    Hey there! It seems as though we both have a interest for the same
    thing. Your blog, “Breastfeeding Sucks | Meg’s Idle Chatter” and mine are very
    similar. Have you ever thought of writing a guest post for a related blog?
    It will unquestionably help gain exposure to your blog (my website recieves a lot of traffic).
    If you are interested, e-mail me at: candice-packer@imap.
    cc. Appreciate it

    Reply

  7. Alluring Bustier
    May 12, 2013 @ 14:19:13

    I run a cooking blog where I share my recipes and tricks and tips that
    I learn coming from my many years of creating meals.
    I try really hard to enhance my blog at least thrice a week.
    I have had the blog for about ninety days, which I think is a
    pretty good amount of time. Still, my blog doesn’t get lots of visitors this is irritating. When I look for my posts on Msn, it’s really challenging for me
    to locate them. I found this blog on the very first page of Bing while i searched
    for Breastfeeding Sucks | Meg’s Idle Chatter, therefore i believe you must be a very skilled, care to share some advice with me?

    Reply

  8. Damp Vagina
    May 12, 2013 @ 23:54:10

    Hey there! I am about to start my own blog and was wondering if you know where
    the best place to buy a website url is? I’m not even sure if that’s what its known as?
    (I’m new to this) I’m referring to “https://meghankharvey.wordpress.com/2009/11/06/breastfeeding-sucks-2/”.

    How do I go about getting one of these for the website I’m making? Thanks alot 🙂

    Reply

  9. Bitches Punishment
    May 13, 2013 @ 09:43:29

    Heya! It looks as though we both have a passion for the same thing.

    Your blog, “Breastfeeding Sucks | Meg’s Idle Chatter” and mine
    are very similar. Have you ever considered writing a guest write-up for a related blog?
    It will surely help gain publicity to your website (my site recieves a
    lot of traffic). If you’re interested, e-mail me at: jesse-hardee@gmail.com. Thank you

    Reply

  10. Kassandra
    May 20, 2013 @ 18:05:40

    Hello excellent blog! Does running a blog such as this
    require a lot of work? I have virtually no
    understanding of coding but I had been hoping to start my own blog in the near future.
    Anyway, if you have any suggestions or techniques
    for new blog owners please share. I know this is off topic nevertheless I
    simply wanted to ask. Cheers!

    Reply

  11. Sol
    May 21, 2013 @ 20:23:40

    Thats somewhat Offtopic, but i assumed you could possibly give me some advice.

    On the subject of registering and hosting a domain name, I’m not sure what I should do. A. Must I register and host at the same place? Or B. Should I register my domain name with one company and host it with another? I would choose to do A, but therein lies my dilemma. I want to register my domain name with NameCheap, because I like their fees. Nonetheless, I’d rather not host my
    site using them. What would be your personal preference?

    Reply

  12. schwabbel Melonen
    Jul 11, 2013 @ 08:58:28

    Hey, i am a blogger same as you, and was curious if you ever tried those addthis.
    com follow this buttons and if they will be any good. I noticed they do load a bunch of
    code, so i’m not certain if its really worth adding them, due the massive increase of KB of the overall filesize. Have you ever give it a shot? I am very interested to hear what other bloggers say about that? I would highly appreciate if you could sent me a message to kirkmcgrath@t-online.de if you have any knowledge with those add-ons. Thx .. btw, luv the site since months!

    Reply

  13. Chase
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 12:23:20

    Greetings! My spouse and I often publish guest articles or blog posts for other
    weblog owners to help gain publicity to our work, as well as provide superb articles to site owners.
    It really is a win win situation! If you happen to be interested feel free to e-mail me
    at: chasechilton@web.de so we may discuss further. Cheers!

    Reply

  14. Tolle Hausfrauen
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 16:12:41

    Hey there your web page url: https://meghankharvey.
    wordpress.com/2009/11/06/breastfeeding-sucks-2/ seems to be redirecting to a completely different internet site when
    I click the home page button. You may want to have this checked.

    Reply

  15. Katrin
    Aug 08, 2013 @ 15:50:31

    That is a bit Offtopic, but i thought you could give me an advice.
    On the subject of registering and hosting a domain name, I have no idea what I have to do.
    A. Should I register and host at the same place?
    Or B. Should I register my domain name with one company and host
    it with another? I would want to do A, but therein lies my problem.

    I want to register my domain name with GoDaddy,
    because I like their prices. Nevertheless, I don’t want to host my site with them. What would be your solution?

    Reply

  16. Larger Boobs Project
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 04:37:12

    Hi there your web-site url: https://meghankharvey.wordpress.com/2009/11/06/breastfeeding-sucks-2/ appears to
    be redirecting to a completely different website when I click the home-page
    button. You may want to have this checked.

    Reply

  17. www.organicseasonscafe.com
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 18:51:31

    Link exchange is nothing else however it is
    only placing the other person’s webpage link on your page at appropriate place
    and other person will also do similar in support of you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

